qPCR RT- controls VS RNA

Use this category for questions related to various quantitative PCR methods, including real time PCR, reverse transcription (RT)/PCR, qPCR, etc. For general PCR methods, continue to use the DNA/General PCR forum

Moderators: r.rosati, Suzanne

qPCR RT- controls VS RNA

Postby mouton2003 » Mar 03 2009 11:01 am

I am new in qPCR field. I wonder if we test RNA on qPCR. We got no amplification or at least 10 Ct difference with our cDNA specific signal whose primers were designed with small intron and can amplify genomic DNA under the same reaction condition. Could we get conclusion that we do not have problem of genomic DNA contamination. Is this better than we do RT - comparing with RT+ . Because if the RNA contaminated, then the RT- should be contaminated also.

Moreover, even we try to design trans-exonic primers, there are still some genes without intron. RT- could not guarantee that we amplify only cDNA but not genomic DNA for this kind of genes. am I right for this concern?

Do someone have experience for rat liver tissue oligo efficiency test. which amount of template we should start. I know that liver is RNA rich tissue, if we use too much, it will inhibit the reaction.

Thank you very much in advance
mouton2003
technophile
technophile

Postby mchlbrmn » Mar 03 2009 5:51 pm

I don't quite understand. An RT- control is the same as an RNA control, except that the RT- also controls for any contamination from, or affects on PCR from the RT buffer, dNTPs, etc.

I always put the same amount of RNA / well, not a number of cells/ well.

I sometimes run a well with some genomic DNA that I have so I can see if it can be amplified by my primers, and the melt peak of the product.
mchlbrmn
ModSquad
ModSquad

Postby mouton2003 » Mar 05 2009 6:43 am

Thank you very much for your reply.