Questions about DNA dialysis

Use this category for questions directly related to DNA manipulation (isolation, purification, sequencing, etc.) and questions regarding general PCR methodologies

Moderators: r.rosati, mchlbrmn

Questions about DNA dialysis

Postby spark » Jan 09 2013 6:33 am

Dear all,
I would like to use dialysis to exchange ions in my DNA. For this I bought Slide-A-Lyzer mini pots for the dialysis.
First, I am looking for more information about the theoretical background of dialysis. Can you give me some literature hints, please?

Secondly, I know my target DNA concentration, but I know dialysis can lead to dilution and sample loss. How much higher shall I choose the starting concentration?
Also, how can I calculate the optimum time for dialysis, the right temperature, please?

Thank you very much for your hints.
Kind regards
Spark

PS: I am a real newbie in this field, so sorry if my questions are super stupid.
spark
technophile
technophile

Re: Questions about DNA dialysis

Postby mchlbrmn » Jan 09 2013 5:25 pm

Sample loss would be a technical thing about he gizmo you bought. If you are not near the size cut off there shouldn't be much loss, I'd think, except the bit of volume stuck in the gizmo if you have small volumes, and perhaps a tad stuck in the pores.
It should work by simply allowing the ions to diffuse across the membrane so that the initial volume becomes the final volume, and the salts are diluted proportionately. Like, V1/V2 * inititial salt conc.
If you want to, rather than calculate dilution, you can just dialyze in large volume, or do several sequential dialysese (how do you pluralize?) to get close to nothing, then add salts/ingredients to desired concentrations.